The first record of a male choir in Llantrisant was during a concert on March 1, 1898 after a whist drive on St David’s Day.

Rehearsals were held at the Wesleyan Chapel and conducted by Cliff Davies (stationmaster at Llantrisant Railway Station) from 1898 to 1912. The present choir was reformed in 1909. It was later conducted by Jenkin Thomas of Miskin accompanied by Mrs A. Lewis.

In 1917 they went by horse brake to Southerndown to entertain wounded soldiers at the Red Cross Hospital and in 1919 they unveiled the war memorial at Miskin. In 1923 Luther Jones, the secretary, was appointed conductor and remained in post for 51 years until his death. The accompanist for 41 years was Lottie Williams of The Firs, followed by Luther’s wife, Winifred.

They took part in the 1,000 voices at the Royal Albert Hall organised by the South Wales Male Voice Choir Association in 1978. 

The Choir has sung before Royalty on a number of occasions, leading the Coronation celebrations in the town in 1953, then at the opening of the Royal Mint in 1968, the unveiling of the War Memorial at Miskin, and at the Investiture service in the town in 1969.

The Choir also performed in the USA, Germany, France, Poland, Cyprus, Austria, Belgium and Slovakia.

Llantrisant Town Band

Llantrisant Town Band was formed during the 1920s with players from Beddau, Cross Inn and Tynant.

They rehearsed in the Cross Keys, before moving to the former jail house below the Town Hall. The bandmaster was John M. Thomas of Tynant, whose three sons, Tom, Cromwell and Harry all played the cornet. 

He was succeeded by Oliver Williams, who remained in the post until 1932 when he took over the baton at Buxton Silver Band in Derby.Euphonium player Daniel Williams (“Dan the Band”) became conductor in the 1930s while John Thomas was elected secretary. 

The band performed in concerts and fetes and in the demonstration marches of 1934. It perished during World War II and the last performance was at the Armistice Parade in Beddau. 

Some of the members included: Cornets: Reuben Jewell, Dai Roberts, Jack Pugh, Cyril Blake, Ronnie Pricket, Owen Bowler, Dai Morris, Ifor Williams, Joe Winter and Soprano Cornet Joe Williams. Tenor Horns: Jim Davies, Alf Williams, Johnny Roberts, Dai Davies. Trombone: Evan James. Euphonium: Will Jewell, Cyril Mercer. Baritone: Frank Games, C Woodward. Basses: Bert Rees, Bill Wilkins, Bill Coles. E Flat Bass: Arthur Hooper, and Trevor West.