Llanrisant Parish Church graveyard stands as a memorial to the many families who called this town and its surrounding villages their home.
Some of the earliest tombs date back to the 1700s, with a variety of fascinating inscriptions which offer a glimpse into the lives of those long since gone.
The graveyard includes a host of well-known figures in the history of the old town, including shopkeepers, innkeepers and a whole host of Freemen.
Prior to 1900 a cottage and garden existed below the tower overlooking School Street. It was the property of the same family that owned the Malthouse on Heol Las.
A request was made by the clergy to extend the churchyard and the owner of the Malthouse asked the advice of tenant farmer John Davies who suggested they gave it to the church as a gift. Most of the family are now buried there.
For those on a quest of a family history nature, the graveyard allows a valuable insight into their ancestors.
Glamorgan Family History created a detailed plan of the graveyard and those who are laid to rest here: